Museum History

Awards Program

Police Car Show

Virtual Exhibits

In Memoriam

Events Calendar

Museum News



Tour Info


Contact Us

Police Heritage Museum
on Facebook

In Memoriam

In memory of those who have made the supreme sacrifice

The following officers died in the line of duty while protecting the peace in York County:

Officer Curtis D. Sowers
North York Police Department
May 21, 1929

Private Dean N. Zeigler
Pennsylvania Motor Police
October 17, 1942

Patrolman Henry C. Schaad
York City Police Department
August 1, 1969

Deputy Edward "Skip" Schroeder Jr.
York County Sheriff's Department
January 10, 2005

Officer David D. Tome
Northern York County Regional Police Department
October 21, 2008

Officer Alex I. Sable
York City Police Department
May 9, 2018



The following officers died in the line of duty in a bordering county:

Patrolman George Martin
Carlisle Police Department
April 8, 1893

Patrol Officer Charles Humphrey
Harrisburg Police Department
September 5, 1907

Patrol Officer Lewis C. Hipple
Harrisburg Police Department
Friday, June 23, 1916

Patrol Officer Melvin W. Kepford
Harrisburg Police Department
October 30, 1918

Chief of Police Harry S. Hartman
Columbia Borough Police Department
Wednesday, April 4, 1923

Patrol Officer M. Roy Hamlin
Camp Hill Police Department
May 23, 1925

Lieutenant Elwood Gainor
Lancaster Police Department
March 28, 1927

Chief of Police James Albert Welch
New Cumberland Police Department
February 16, 1928

Patrol Officer Cloyd L. Hearn
Harrisburg Police Department
November 13, 1934

Private Charles Hiram Craven
Pennsylvania Motor Police
October 11, 1938

Private Joseph Martin Williams
Pennsylvania Motor Police
October 11, 1938

Chief of Police Burnell Imhoff
New Holland Police Department
June 8, 1939

Police Officer Homer Reed Gilbert
Mechanicsburg Police Department
January 26, 1943

Patrol Officer Barry P. Karper
Harrisburg Police Department
Saturday, July 20, 1963

Patrol Officer Joseph J. O'Shura
Harrisburg Police Department
Saturday, July 20, 1963

Chief of Police Marvin R. Foltz
East Donegal Township Police Department
Friday, April 7, 1967

Patrolman Harry F. Hartman Jr.
East Pennsboro Township Police Department
December 21, 1970

Officer Michael Richard Sanger
East Earl Township Police Department
October 7, 1972

Corporal Paul James Walters
Silver Spring Township Police Department
January 19, 1975

Chief of Police Charles H. Roche
Abbottstown/Hamilton Township Police Department
March 7, 1977

Corporal John R. Christian Jr.
Harrisburg Police Department
April 18, 1978

Patrolman James A. Redding
New Oxford Police Department
October 22, 1978

Patrolman James L. Prieto
Pennsylvania State Capitol Police
April 19, 1981

Sergeant Delbert R. Flowers Jr.
Manheim Borough Police Department
November 9, 1984

Patrolman Richard Stanley Phelps
Lemoyne Borough Police Department
July 11, 1989

Patrolman Willis John Cole
New Cumberland Police Department
August 19, 1994

Chief of Police Douglas A. Shertzer, Sr.
Lititz Borough Police Department
May 11, 2004

Sergeant Michael C. Weigand
Latimore Township Police Department
September 14, 2008

Wildlife Conservation Officer David L. Grove
Pennsylvania Game Commission
November 11, 2010

Deputy U.S. Marshal Christopher David Hill
United States Marshals Service
January 18, 2018

We gratefully acknowledge the cooperation of the Officer Down Memorial Page, Inc. for providing information on many of the above officers.


237 West Market Street
York, Pennsylvania 17401